Is Your Florida Home Protected Against Flooding?

Florida is well-known for its beautiful beaches and tropical climate. At the same time, this tropical paradise has its share of “thorns” in the form of tropical storms and hurricanes. If you own a home in Florida, you need the extra protection that flood insurance from Pritchards and Associates, Inc. in Okeechobee, FL has to offer in protecting your valuable investment. Here’s why flood insurance is so vital to Florida homeowners. 

Flooding Can Occur Anywhere

Although homeowners who live in flood zones are at higher risk of flood damage during hurricane season, flooding can occur almost anywhere in Florida, even if you live in a low-risk area. According to FEMA reports, approximately 20-25% of flood claims in the country are made by homeowners living outside of flood zone areas. Hurricanes in Florida are notorious for dumping substantial amounts of water all over the state, increasing your risk of flood damage, regardless of where you live.

Standard Home Insurance Doesn’t Cover Flood Damage

Standard homeowners’ insurance doesn’t generally cover flood damage. Without flood insurance, you could find yourself covering flood damage out of your pocket. Even a small flood of several inches of water can cause tremendous damage to a home’s structure, not to mention the loss of personal property. You could face paying for tens of thousands of dollars’ worth of damage out-of-pocket.

Importance of Protecting Your Assets

Your home is one of your most valuable investments. Losing a home to flooding could be catastrophic for you and your family. In addition to losing your home, floods can destroy your home’s contents, forcing you to start from scratch in recovering your assets.

For more information on flood insurance protection for your Okeechobee, FL home, and personal effects, contact an agent from Pritchards and Associates, Inc. today.  

Don’t Text and Drive

Pritchards And Associates cares about your safety on the roads. And besides being highly dangerous, texting while driving is now illegal. Here’s the scoop …

The Florida law banning texting while driving went in to affect July 1, 2019. The new law makes it a primary offense to text while driving. Therefore, police can pull drivers over specifically for texting. The first offense is a fine of $30 and a point on your driver’s license. The second offense is $60 and three points, if cited again within five years.

Entering letters, numbers or characters into a device is considered texting; this includes emails, and instant messaging. A stationary motor vehicle is not subject to the ban, so technically texting at a stop light is still legal but not advisable. The law also includes exceptions for vehicle navigation such as google maps and Waze. 

Starting Oct. 1, 2019 through Dec. 31, 2019, police will begin issuing a warning to drivers talking on a hand held phone in a school zone or construction zone (while workers are present). Then, beginning Jan. 1, 2020, they will start issuing tickets. It will still be legal to use hands-free technology such as Bluetooth under these conditions.

From a safety standpoint, it’s best to put away the devices and concentrate on driving. Whatever it is, it can wait. 

For more information about the law, please access the statute: http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0300-0399/0316/Sections/0316.305.html